Suzuki Forum

Suzuki For You

mk1 swift close ratio gearbox

Discuss the 1985-1999 MK1-MK3 Suzuki Swift and Swift GTi

Moderators: ClubCappo, wade

mk1 swift close ratio gearbox

Postby tantric_swift » Sat Sep 22, 2012 1:43 pm

Hey guys,

I'm new to this forum but have been a member on various suzuki forums in the past when I rallied my Mk1 Swift. I have a swift mk1 rally car and it's been off the road for 2 years now and dry stored due to some mechanical and gearbox issues putting her out of action and I have been building an R1 mini for the last 3 years so funds and time went into that. Now it's finished I want to bring the swift back from the dead and start rallying again.

As for the subject of my post, here goes...the gearbox is running a close ratio synchro setup which is superb and the ratios are spot on for rallying. However, seeing as these are like hen's teeth and it won't last forever, I want to see if the gear set can copied. Firstly, can anyone provide me information on how to get a gearset copied or if it's possible?...and secondly, if it can be done, I would potentially get a few sets made to sell on if there was some interest from forum members as this may also bring the cost down for copying. I look forward to hearing from anyone who can assist me on this.

Cheers
tantric_swift

Re: mk1 swift close ratio gearbox

Postby miniswift » Sat Sep 22, 2012 8:27 pm

Hi,

Is your mk1 really mk1?
Reason I ask is that not many mk1 with CR came in to UK.
If your car is mk1, it should be between 86-88.
I know someone who might be able to make gearset but they are abroad.
I have my LSD made by them and waiting for my tester to comeback to me with result.

Cheers
Atchi
miniswift
Enthusiast

Postby tantric_swift » Sun Sep 23, 2012 8:29 pm

Hi Atchi,