Vitara has High Revs / Idling, HELP

Discussion about the Suzuki Vitara range

Moderators: wade, ClubCappo, IanL

Vitara has High Revs / Idling, HELP

Postby bevnmart » Mon Aug 14, 2006 8:32 am

Hiya,
first of all hello to the suzuki forums as i'm a new newbie :D

my question is
my suzuki vitara 1.6 JLX F reg (1989) has started to have high revs / idle for no reason, the rev counter has always been on 1.1 / 1.2 BUT now its on around 2.0 - 2.5 and when i'm driving it just wants wants to go faster all the time .. eg. in 2nd or 3rd gear i don't have to put my foot on the accelerator and it will pull itself, ... and worst of all when i switch the engine off .. it don't knock off for about 10 seconds as its running on and stops to a shudder, ... I have checked the air filter and some of the pipes but it still still idles on 1.5 - 2.2.

I have had this vitara now for over a year with no engine problems, ... does anyone have any advice as to what i could check before i take it all apart .. as i wont know how to put it all together otherwise, :? lol

all anwers will be greatly appreciated.
regards
Bevnmart
bevnmart

Postby Spearmint Rhino » Mon Aug 14, 2006 3:37 pm

Sounds like a problem called 'dieseling', the carb is delivering too much fuel at some stage (probably float-chamber fault), this excess fuel is then being ignited by either a too-hot spark plug or glowing carbon deposits in the cylinder even after switching ignition off.
"Where's all my petrol gone?!!!!"
Spearmint Rhino
Addicted

Postby bevnmart » Tue Aug 15, 2006 10:35 pm

hi,